A loaf of bread, a parking ticket and the Fate of all Life

Just this morning, as I was driving, I deliberated the place at which I should purchase a loaf of bread that my household so desperately, desperately required (bread is glorious, really). I could have easily gotten it from the petrol station but felt hungry and wanted to buy more than just a loaf of bread. So after thinking as hard as Descartes did in his writing of Meditations, I decided to drive to Gardens where I would park my car, head to FairPrice Finest and salivate at all the nice food (and maybe decide then what else to buy other than the loaf of bread).

Parking was a most Sisyphean task – must’ve went forward and backward in that confined lot about 10 times before realizing that I had managed to get the car only about half a inch closer to the curb and thinking: heck it, p-plate means I can still be bad at parking my car. I came back to the car roughly twenty minutes later with a tub of ice-cream, a packet of jumbo sausages, a carton of juice and of course, a loaf of bread. Hurriedly, I got in and drove of, fearing that global warming would quickly annihilate my ice-cream. And, LAMBASTED WORLD OF VERY VIGILANT EYES! I saw a parking ticket pinned down by the wiper, flipping and flapping about in the wind as I was driving (admittedly, I was quite afraid then that it might struggle free from the grip of the wiper and fly off like the bird every slip of paper longs to be).

Alas, my first parking-offence ticket was had. And all because I succumbed to the gluttonous prodding of my mind and made that one decision to drive to Gardens instead of casually stopping by the petrol station and be done there with my grocery duties.

What provoked my interest I am quite sure has provoked many others’ before: a simple decision had led to so different an outcome. To what extent could I then apply such a concept? Would my typing this sentence and purposely re-writing it change the course of my future? Could missing a bus result in my not acquainting with a person whom if I had would turn out to be a life-long friend? The contingencies are endless.

Pity then, that we can choose from the infinite number of contingencies only one.

I shall have to rein in my tongue here and lament no more on the innumerable “could have”s and “if only”s lest I bore you till you vow before the heavens never again to return to this unabashedly distasteful site. If there’s anything that I gained from this whole hurly-burly, it’d be that every small thing you do counts towards something far bigger that only in the future you shall discover. So, instead of hopping across mindless videos on Youtube, why not read up on something which has once before intrigued you but that which you never had time to ponder.

Leave a Reply

