Had I a spaceship

Take me far across the galaxies, across the oceans of star and moon; take me to a distant land where time loses its power and all space is compressed into a pinhead of black infinity. And let my memories not come along, for they will only darken my mood. Instead, let me be free from everything; let the world disappear with the distance and every strand of its immense history forgotten. Then finally the deepest affliction of the human soul, that most vexing woe which nightly comes to embitter the fruits of life, shall be swiftly and wholly vanquished, . What a peace I shall find!

Leave a Reply

