To Fraulein, the great azure

Observe, the joy and sadness your presence brings to me! For on one hand, your spirited self delights every fiber in me, but on other, that I shall never hold you close torments me like freedom torments the prisoner – it lies merely a breath away, that azure vastness, and yet a series of cold, callous bars separates him from it. I doubt I shall ever stop feeling this way; or at least not until, as I imagine my passion shall eventually relent, you find a person to whom you are willing to promise love and devotion. So it must be, that I, like the prisoner, ought to turn my sight away from that unreachable beauty and find repose in other things, in the books which have been so kindly furnished us or the silence in which we may find celestial solace.

Leave a Reply

