What dampens the preparedness for school

School begins tomorrow and I hardly feel prepared. I am sure this sentiment is shared among the many others who have let their toes rest for too long in this nice, cool pond – the water has almost completely drained, and soon we shall be back toiling under the hot sun. Yet, it is not so much this toiling that I fear, as it is the fact that some of my closest companions shall soon leave the hearth to which I so often return for joy and comfort and laughter, and all the other forms of merriment that carry one through life. I am not sure how long it will be before I become accustomed to the glaring void they leave behind. And I imagine, that once, and only once, that dark cloud has passed, will I feel prepared for school.

Leave a Reply

