The toys of childhood

Once, I found a remote in the lonely attic;
I aimed it at everything and clicked,
clicked, clicked – but nothing happened.
Then I turned the dingy toy around,
and saw a red little button warning
of danger. Because I was a young boy,
clueless about the world and wanting
only to discover its secrets, I pressed it.
And behold, in a bright, startling flash,
a beam of ardent green, greener
than the traffic light that says “Go”.
Then I remembered watching a show
where the good guys and bad guys
fought each other using these same
glowing, magical swords. I gawked.

Leave a Reply

