Last Saturday

To create lasting friendships requires an effort that I presume is lacking in me. Last Saturday, I met a girl whom I felt to be a wonderful conversation partner. Had we the time and space, I think we could’ve spoken for hours. But, as it was, I had my shifts to attend to, and she had hers. We were part of different teams, which made it all the more difficult for us to meet. At the end of the day, I thought to ask her for her number and if she would like to have lunch sometime. I didn’t. It felt strange, as much as it also felt natural and polite. But more than that, I didn’t have the will to extend the friendship beyond that single day. As much as speaking to her my enthrall me, I just couldn’t be bothered. I’d let the chance go. And then I’d cry regretfully later on. I should have done just that, shouldn’t I? It’s too late now. The ocean is too large to ever find again that special drop.

Leave a Reply

