He strives alone

“So, how many people will I have to trample over before I can reach the top?” And my potential employer stared at me for a moment, wondering if he had heard me correctly. I continued meeting his eye. Then, the puzzlement disappeared, as if it had been merely an act. He smiled, and I smiled too. There, I knew, was a quality common to both of us. Thus began my pursuit of all things worldly. I was cold and calculating. I made more enemies than allies, and no friends at all. But it didn’t matter; all I wanted was to become rich.

Leave a Reply

