Spill it, won’t you?

Today, as I was holding a cup of coffee over my laptop, I felt suddenly an urge to let the cup tip over and the coffee spill onto the keyboard. And then I could experience first-hand the permanence of the destruction. All my saved work would be lost and I would have to begin each assignment afresh, with only the remnants of now deceased to guide me. I would regret it thoroughly of course; and I would chide myself for having been so foolish. So why was it, that even after reason had furnished such a compelling case to not overturn my cup of coffee, I still felt the urge to do so? Why does the self rage against so healthy an inhibition? I am thus very afraid that I might one day succumb to that mighty, reason-less urge, and destroy my own life.

Leave a Reply

